In recent months, the Facebook-owned social media behemoth has rolled out a slew of noteworthy features. And it appears that its Direct Message feature has benefited the most. There’s a lot to talk about, whether it’s the addition of new reactions or the addition of Disappearing Messages. On the other hand, it isn’t without its share of problems. Users have expressed their dissatisfaction with the fact that they are unable to view a post that has been shared as a Direct Message. Instead, it simply says “Post Unavailable.” In this guide, we’ll go over all of the possible causes for this problem, as well as how to solve it once and for all. Let’s get started without further ado.
Instagram will mark a post as age-restricted content if it is NSFW, violent in nature, or targets an adult audience. So, if you’re an adult and want to see this post, you’ll need to confirm your age (if you haven’t already):
The most common cause of this problem is that you aren’t following the profile that shared the post with you. So go to that account and click the Follow button, then wait for the account owner to accept your request. You should be able to see that post once they’ve done so. However, a few users have reported that this problem occurs even when a public’s page content is shared (and you don’t have to follow them to see their post). If you’re on the same page as me, here are some additional workarounds to consider.
You won’t be able to view the content of that page if the admin has blocked you, regardless of whether the account is public or whether you are following it or not. There are two different approaches you can take in this regard, both of which require you to disconnect from your primary account.
To begin, if the post was shared from a private account, you’ll need to create/log in with a different account and send the Follow request to them. You may be able to view that content if and when it is accepted. If, on the other hand, the post is from a public account, you can view it as an anonymous user by simply signing out of your current account.
If you’re still seeing that DM after a few days or weeks, it’s possible that the content was deleted or archived. If it’s the former, there’s nothing you can do about it on your end. If, on the other hand, the post has been archived, the admin has complete discretion over whether or not to make the content public again. You will be able to view that post as and when they do so.
If none of the above methods yielded a satisfactory result, you can always revert to the native method. While this isn’t a permanent solution, it will allow you to view that content. It’s just that you’d have to persuade the sender to do it for you.
They could easily share that post as a screenshot if it is an image. In the case of a video post, however, the sender may be required to screen record the entire duration of the video. You could also direct them to a third-party app that will handle all of the manual work for them.